THE BRIARS 1818
- Adult Ages 13+
- Child Ages 12 & under
The Briars was commissioned by Judge John Perkins and designed and built in 1818 by noted Natchez architect Levi Weeks.
The home is built in the typical southern planter style vernacular with outstanding Federal millwork throughout including the interlaced arched windows of its dormers. The 95-foot front gallery is accented by a monumental fan lit central doorway with matching secondary floral-laced fan lit entrances at either end of the gallery, a unique feature to the design.
The Briars was the childhood home of Mrs. Jefferson Davis, (Varina) whose family resided though never owned the home from 1826 to 1850; serving as the site where on February 26, 1845, Jefferson and Varina were married by the local Episcopal priest, The Rev. David C. Page of Trinity Episcopal Church.
As one of the original tour homes shown on the 1932 Spring Pilgrimage, throughout its two centuries of existence, The Briars has had only 5 owners and is now authentically restored and furnished with period correct examples of Irish and English antiques specifically purchased for The Briars to return it to its original form by current owners Mr. and Mrs. Benjamin C. Newman.