Skip to primary navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
  • Special Tour!

PROPINQUITY C. 1800

Quick Details

Propinquity was acquired in 1811 by Col. Leonard Covington.  The home functioned as a residence and small farm until 1832 when it was acquired by Dr. John Branch and transformed into a cotton plantation. The two-story frame house is renowned for its original Federal style millwork and is remarkable for retaining much of its architectural integrity. Dr. Branch’s descendants owned the property for nearly 200 years and many of their furnishings and decorative arts still adorn the house.

Adult Ages 13+
$20
Child Ages 12 & under
Free

The Owners invite you to discover this hidden gem last on tour 37 years ago.

ONLY available on Friday, October 20th and Saturday, October 21st, from 9:00 a.m. with last tour at 4:00 p.m.

Recently featured in Elevations Magazine, this historic Natchez District home dates to the early 1800s. Propinquity was lovingly restored to preserve the past while adding modern finishes. The home is a treasure trove of original furnishings and artifacts incorporated among family heirlooms and newer pieces. Located on a stretch of the original Natchez Trace, the 17-acre property features magnificent Live Oaks and ancient Cedar trees as well as a cemetery dating to the 1840s. The two-story frame house is renowned for its original Federal style millwork and is remarkable for retaining much of its architectural integrity.

a dining room table in front of a windowa living room filled with furniture and a fire placea clock sitting in the middle of a rooma living room filled with furniture and vase on a tablea living room filled with furniture and vase of flowers on a tablea large bed in a hotel room